Photographing East London Markets

One of the best things about working an evening shift on a sunday, is that on the way to work I can wind through the streets of East London filled with locals grabbing a bargain at the brilliant markets. On sunday I visited two of my favourites; Brick Lane & Columbia Road Flower Market. The markets are always filled with bright colours and vibrant characters..

DSC02813DSC02802DSC02794DSC02791DSC02782DSC02780DSC02778DSC02775DSC02773DSC02769DSC02764DSC02761

DSC02689

Not at a market but I captured this shot as I walking down Oxford Street. Sometimes Oxford Street is so busy I consider doing the same.

As next week comes closer I am slowly preparing for my move to Bangladesh. If your not already, hit follow on this blog to receive updates of my travels, a photo diary and honest posts about whats its like moving abroad for the first time at the age of 22.

Ones to watch:Part II

This afternoon I visited another strong week of photography at Free Range in Shoreditch, East London. The work on show from the Graduates featured strong portraits, experimental installations and some brilliant DIY photo books. Here are my favourites from week 2..

Neo Gilder// neogilderphotography.squarespace.com

Daniel Bennet// danielbennet.uk


Daisy Ashfield// daisyashfield.com

Suewilliamsonphotgraphy.con

Chase Joy//chasejoy.co.uk

Adam Baker//adamjamesbaker.com


The Bragdon Brothers//bragdonbrothers.com


Free Range is a great opportunity for U.K. photography and design graduates. It’s on every year and one to visit. 

Ones To Watch:Part I 

Free Range is a brilliant free event showcasing photography graduates from around the UK. Here I have managed to narrow down all the great work to a few of my favourites. Please check out their websites/show them some love;

Benjamin Rowland/ Benjaminrowland.co.uk

Connie Campbell/Connie Campbell.format.com

Tobias May/tobiasmay.co.uk

Omar Khaleel/omarkhaleel.co.uk

Jessica Ashley Stokes/jessicaashleystokes.com

Sophie Collins/Sophiejcollins.com

Silvija Prokopaite/ silvijaprokopaite.com

Klaudia Morgalla/klaudia-Morgalla.format.com

Paulina Nartowicz/Paulinanartowicz.com


Free Range is on (At the old Truman brewery, Shoreditch) until mid-July with new graduate work on show every week so give it a visit if you’re near-by! 

IG:@madisonbeachphotos